Lefkada is one of  the main islands of a group of seven islands in the Ionian Sea known as the “Eptanisa“ (or “Seven Islands“).  It lies between the islands of Corfu and Kefalonia.


Lefkada covers an area of 302.5 square kilometres and is the fourth largest island of the Eptanisa with a population of 23,000.  The province of Lefkada is made up of several smaller islands (Meganissi, Kalamos, Kastos, Scorpios, Skorpidi, Mathouri, Sparti, Thilia, Kythros and the smaller islands around them), with the capital city of Lefkada as its capital.  The island is divided into six  municipalities (Lefkada, Ellomenos, Apollonion, Karyas, Sfakioton and Meganissi) and two counties (Kalamos and Kastos).

The island’s climate is Mediterranean, with long spells of sunshine all year round.  Winters are temperate, but rainy.  Summers are warm, but pleasant due to cooling breezes.

Seventy percent of the island is covered by mountains. The highest peaks are Stavrota (1,182 m), Elati (1,126 m.), St Lias (1,014 m) and Mega Oros (1,012 m).  The western coast of the island is quite steep with many long, sandy beaches.  Lefkada`s landscape is characterized by narrow plateaus, fertile valleys and canyons with rich plantations.  It is also noted for its flora which includes olive trees, cypress trees, a variety of pine trees, a special variety of oak, aromatic herbs and rare flowers.

The island has many natural springs.  One of the most renowned springs is Kerasia Springs in Sivros.

Lefkada’s coastline is also very picturesque.  It is comprised of impressive beaches, peninsulas, capes and coves that make magnificent natural ports.